Press "Enter" to skip to content

Australia Announce Ashes Squad: Aussies Drop These T20 WC Heroes


Ashes 2021: The Ashes is back down under as the T20 World Cup champs, Australia is set to host England in their backyard. Cricket Australia announced their squad on Wednesday. The Aussie heroes from their T20 World Cup triumph, Matthew Wade and Mitch Marsh have been axed from the Ashes Squad. 

Usman Khawaja and Travis Head have made a return to the side and would be responsible for top-order batting along with David Warner. 

Check out Australia’s Full Squad: Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Matthew Wade, who smashed Shaheen Afridi for three sixes to end Pakistan’s campaign has not been included. Many pundits are calling it the end of 34-year old Wade’s Test career as he wasn’t picked even during the South Africa series of February 2021. 

England will travel to Australia in December 2021 to begin a 5-match Ashes series. The first match will be played in Gabba, Brisbane. It’s a much-awaited Ashes series as England have failed to win it since the past two series.

Australia also announced their A Squad. Sean Abbott, Nic Maddinson and Mitch Marsh have made it to this team. 

Australia A players: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street



Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *