Press "Enter" to skip to content

Each Team To Get 2 Decision Review Chances Under New DRS Rules In Upcoming T20 WC


After IPL 2021, the T20 World Cup is going to start in UAE and Oman from October 17. The ICC has decided to use the Decision Review System (DRS) for the first time in the history of the Men’s T20 World Cup this year.

According to an official statement of the ICC, in every innings, both the teams will get two chances of review under DRS.

Usually, in T20 matches, a team gets only one review in an innings, but keeping in mind the absence of experienced umpires in many matches during the Covid-pandemic, the ICC in June decided to increase one review in each format of cricket.

Changes were also made in the rule of minimum overs

For the T20 World Cup, the ICC has also changed the rules for delayed starts or rain-stopped matches. In the group stage, as in the previous general rule, it will be mandatory for each team to bat at least five overs to get the result of the match with Duckworth-Lewis. At the same time, in the semi-finals and final, each team will be required to bat at least ten overs to get the result of the match with Duckworth-Lewis.

The Women’s T20 World Cup played in the West Indies in 2018 was the first ICC International T20 tournament where DRS was used. After this, it was going to be used in the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia which was cancelled due to Covid-19. 


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *