Press "Enter" to skip to content

Get To Know About Priyank Panchal, Gujarat Batter Who Replaces Rohit Sharma For South Africa Tests


New Delhi: BCCI has announced a big change in the 18-member Indian squad, announced for the three-match Test series between India and South Africa. Gujarat opener Priyank Panchal has been included in team India’s Test squad for the upcoming tour.

Priyank Panchal, who toured South Africa as the captain of India A team, replaced Rohit Sharma after the senior opener sustained a left hamstring injury during a training session in Mumbai on Sunday.

Rohit’s exclusion from the Test squad has caused some serious damage to India’s chances of winning the Test series as he was the highest run-scorer for the team in the year 2021. In Rohit’s absence, Ajinkya Rahane might again become Virat’s deputy (vice-captain).

Who Is Priyank Panchal? Gujarat Batter Who Replaces Rohit Sharma For South Africa Tests

Who is Priyank Panchal?

Born in Ahmedabad Gujarat, Priyank Panchal plays domestic cricket for Gujarat. The 31-year-old has recently returned from South Africa. He was part of India A squad that played three unofficial Tests in Bloemfontein. The selectors had made Priyank captain instead of Prithvi Shaw.

During the tour, Panchal showcased great batting skills in the series opener as he missed out on scoring a ton by just four runs in the 1st Test, while he returned with scores of 24 and 0 in the second Test before getting benched for the third and final Test.

Priyank has scored 6891 runs in 98 first class matches, averages 45.63 and has 24 centuries under his name. Apart from this, the talented batter has scored 2854 List A runs at an average of 40.19.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *