Press "Enter" to skip to content

KKR Vs CSK IPL Final KKR Captain Eoin Morgan Will Become Fourth Overseas Player To Win IPL Trophy As Captain, IPL 2021


Kolkata vs Chennai, IPL Final: Today in IPL 2021 (IPL 2021) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will face each other in the finals.  KKR captain (Eoin Morgan) will be looking forward to winning the title and setting a unique record.

If Morgan leads KKR to victory then in IPL he will join an exclusive club for captains. If Morgan, the captain of t20 England team, wins the match against Chennai today in the IPL final, then he will become only the fourth (Overseas captain) to win the title.

IPL club consists of only three overseas players who have won the IPL championship before. However, all three are Australian veterans. The list includes the legendary leg-spinner Shane Warne, Australia’s former aggressive opener Adam Gilchrist, and current Aussie veteran opener David Warner.

The year 2008, when Shane Warne won the title

In the year 2008, the very first season of IPL was played, the underdog Rajasthan Royals (RR) team, led by captain Shane Warne, made it to the final. Warne’s team faced MS Dhoni’s team and top contender Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the finals.

In the final played in Mumbai, Shane Warne won the toss and elected to field first.  CSK team batted first and scored 163 runs for the loss of five wickets Suresh Raina scored the most for his team with 43 runs innings. Parthiv Patel played 33 balls and scored 38 runs while captain MS Dhoni played only 17 balls and scored 29 runs. For Rajasthan, Yusuf Pathan bowled 4 overs and gave away 22 runs and claimed 3 wickets. Rajasthan Royals had to chase a target of 164 runs.

The team not only won the match but also won the first-ever IPL title because of the brilliant performance by Yusuf Pathan. Pathan played 39 balls and scored brilliant 56 runs. Pathan was named Player of the Match for his all-round performance.

Gilchrist won the 2009 IPL Championship 

Know as one of the most explosive openers, Adam Gilchrist in 2009 led his team (Deccan Chargers) to IPL victory. This was the second year in a row that an Australian player won the IPL championship. This year the tournament was played in (South Africa) . In the final played at (Johannesburg) , Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by six runs. 

Hyderabad won under David Warner 

In the year 2016 , IPL has witnessed an extraordinary performance by David Warner. Warner, who had scored 848 runs, led his team (Sunrises Hyderabad) to victory and made them champions. In the final, Warner’s team batted first and set a mammoth target of 208 runs. The team managed to restrict RCB to 200 runs. Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched the victory by 8 runs and, won the IPL championship. For his all-round performance, (Ben Cutting) was awarded (15 balls and scored 39 runs and 2 wickets) player of the match.

If Morgan wins the IPL final today, then he will also join this special club of overseas champion captains. The rest of the 10 IPL seasons have all been won by teams with Indian captains. 5 titles won under (Rohit Sharma) for Mumbai Indians (MI) and, 3 IPL seasons won by India’s former skipper, (MS Dhoni) for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and 2 won by (Gautam Gambhir) for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)



Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *