Press "Enter" to skip to content

Punjab Witnesses Maximum Reduction In Petrol Prices, Know About Other States


Petrol, Diesel Prices: Petrol prices have been reduced the most in Congress-ruled Punjab. Punjab has become the state with the highest cut in petrol prices after the state government reduced the local sales tax or value-added tax (VAT). At the same time, there has been a maximum reduction in diesel prices in the Union Territory of Ladakh.

After the Central government cut excise duty on petrol by Rs 5 per liter and diesel by Rs 10 per liter, 25 states and Union Territories have reduced VAT on vehicle fuel. This has brought some relief to consumers from the exorbitant prices of petrol and diesel.

ALSO READ | Pollution: Schools In Gurugram, Faridabad To Be Closed Till Nov 17, Haryana Govt Orders Curbs In Four Districts

According to the price cut details provided by the public sector petroleum companies, the price of petrol has come down by Rs 16.02 per liter after deduction of excise duty and VAT. On the other hand, diesel prices have come down by Rs 19.61 per liter. Petrol prices in Punjab have come down the most by Rs 16.02 per liter. Petrol has become cheaper by Rs 13.43 per liter in Ladakh and Rs 13.35 per liter in Karnataka. 

VAT on petrol in Punjab has been reduced by Rs 11.27 per litre. In Uttar Pradesh, it has been reduced by Rs 6.96 per litre. VAT on petrol has been reduced by Rs 6.82 per liter in Gujarat. Odisha has cut the sales tax by Rs 4.55 per liter and Bihar by Rs 3.21 per liter. 

Diesel prices reduced:

Diesel prices have been reduced the most in Ladakh. In addition to the excise duty cut of Rs 10 per liter on diesel in Ladakh, VAT has also been reduced by Rs 9.52 per liter. Karnataka has reduced VAT on diesel by Rs 9.30 and Puducherry by Rs 9.02 per liter. Punjab has reduced VAT on diesel by Rs 6.77, while Uttar Pradesh has reduced it by Rs 2.04 per liter. Uttarakhand has reduced VAT on diesel by Rs 2.04 and Haryana by Rs 2.04 per liter. Bihar has reduced VAT on diesel by Rs 3.91 and Odisha by Rs 5.69 per liter. Madhya Pradesh has cut the tax on diesel by Rs 6.96 per liter.

States or Union Territories that have reduced VAT on vehicle fuel include Ladakh, Karnataka, Puducherry, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Mizoram, Himachal Pradesh, Daman and Diu, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Chandigarh, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Tripura, Gujarat, Nagaland, Punjab, Goa, Meghalaya, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Andaman and Nicobar, Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana.

Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, and Tamil Nadu, ruled by the Congress and its allies, are yet to cut VAT on vehicle fuel. Besides, AAP-ruled Delhi, Trinamool Congress-ruled West Bengal, Left-ruled Kerala, TRS-ruled Telangana, and YSR Congress-ruled Andhra Pradesh have also not yet reduced VAT.


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *