Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rohit Sharma Named India’s T20 Captain, KL Rahul Takes Vice Captain Charge. BCCI Announces Squad For NZ Series


New Delhi: BCCI has announced that Rohit Sharma will be taking the charge of the captain of the Indian cricket team for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. While announcing the squad for India vs New Zealand series, BCCI on Tuesday also appointed KL Rahul as the Vice-Captain.

This decision comes after Virat Kohli, ahead of the T20 World Cup, had announced his intention of stepping down from the skipper’s position at the end of the event.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli has been rested for the series against New Zealand and Hardik Pandya has been dropped. Uncapped pacers Harshal Patel and Venkatesh Iyer included in India’s T20 squad.

Pandya has been dropped from the squad after a lacklustre performance during the T20 World Cup.

Pacers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and spinner Ravindra Jadeja have also been given much-needed rest for the short series.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal makes his place in the squad back while Mohammed Siraj, who has played a few T20Is in the past, is also in the mix.

Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar, who were in the T20 World Cup reserves are now in the main squad.

India are set to play 3 T20Is against New Zealand starting from November 17.   

India’s T20 squad against NZ | R Sharma(Capt), KL Rahul (VC), R Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, R Pant (WC), Ishan Kishan (WC), Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kr, D Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd Siraj Rohit Sharma named India’s T20 Capt


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *