Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rohit Sharma Replaces Virat Kohli As ODI Skipper Ahead Of South Africa Tour


New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee on Wednesday announced Rohit Sharma as India’s ODI skipper till the 50-over World Cup in 2023.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward,” the BCCI tweeted.

With this development, the national selection committee removed Virat Kohli as India’s ODI captain.

Ajinkya Rahane was also removed from Test vice-captaincy and the position was handed over to Rohit Sharma.

Meanwhile, the BCCI also announced the 18-member squad for the three Test series against South Africa starting on December 26.

Hanuma Vihari has made a comeback in the main squad while Ishant Sharma has been able to retain his place despite poor form, PTI reported.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, opener Shubman Gill and spinner Axar Patel have not been included in the Test squad due to various injuries.

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (captain),Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *