Press "Enter" to skip to content

T20 World Cup 2021: Qualifier Round To Start From Today, Scotland Vs Bangladesh, Oman Vs Papua New Guinea


T20 World Cup 2021: After the thrill of league cricket in IPL 2021 T20 is set to hit the international stage from today. The grand celebration of cricket T20 World Cup is set to begin today in UAE and Oman. In order to decide the four other teams of Super 12 in the tournament, the qualifier round is starting from today. The first match in this round will be played between Oman and Papua New Guinea (PNG) today. The match will be played at Oman cricket academy ground from 3.30 pm. This will be followed by a match between Bangladesh and Scotland at the same ground from 7.30 pm.

As per the ICCT 20 rankings in Super 12ICC Teight teams, including Team India, have already qualified. ( ICCT 20 Ranking). While four other teams will be decided from the qualifier rounds between the eight teams starting today. These eight teams are placed in Group A and Group B. Both the Matches of Group A are to be played today. Ireland will take on the Netherlands and Sri Lanka will take on Namibia in Group B tomorrow. The top two teams from both groups will qualify for Super 12. 

Oman’s second T20 World Cup

This is Oman’s second T20 World Cup. It had earlier surprised everyone by defeating Ireland at the 2016 event. The team is led by Zeeshan Maqsood. The important thing to note is that all Omani players play cricket as well as work full time. PNG is making its T20 World Cup debut this year. The team has been in Oman for the past month and has adapted itself to the situation here. According to team captain Assad Wala, “These are extremely proud moments for me and for other players in the team.”

On the other hand experience of the T20 World Cup for Bangladesh has not been very impressive so far. The team has won only one match since the first edition of 2007. However, given the current form, the team is a strong contender to make it to Super 12. Bangladesh has beaten strong teams like Australia, New Zealand on home soil this year before coming here. While the Scotland team has played in the 2007, 2009, and 2016 T20 World Cups so far, they have been eliminated in the first round all three times. 

Super 12 matches to begin Super 12 from  October 23.  

India has been placed in Group 2 with New Zealand and Afghanistan and Pakistan  2 for the T20 World Cup. After the qualifier round, the winner of the Group B team and runnerup of group A will also join them.While group 1 has  West IndiesEnglandAustralia, and South AfricaAfter the qualifier round, it will have the winning team of Group A and the runner of Group B.on board. The winner of the tournament will be decided on 14 November in the (Dubai) final match (Final) to be played in Dubai.



Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *