Press "Enter" to skip to content

T20 World Cup ICC Announces Prize Money For T20 World Cup Winners


New Delhi: The International Council of Cricket (ICC) on Sunday announced the prize money for the Men’s T20 World Cup winners, starting from October 17 in UAE and Oman. The team that wins the tournament will get $ 1.6 million (approximately 12 crores) and the runner up team will get $ 8,00,000 (approximately 6 crores).

The first match of the T20 World Cup will be played between Oman and Papua New Guinea and the final is scheduled to be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on November 14.

The team that manages to make it to the T20 World Cup semi-finals will be awarded with a prize money of about 3 crores. ICC will also give bonuses to teams for winning every match in the Super 12 stage.

The Indian cricket team will play its first T20 World Cup match against arch-rivals Pakistan on October 24. After this, the Men in Blue will take on New Zealand on October 31 and Afghanistan on November 3. Team India won the T20 World Cup in 2007 and in the year 2014, they made it to the final but failed to clinch the trophy. This time a total of 16 teams are participating in the World Cup and India has been placed in Group 2.

India is hosting the T20 World Cup this time and Virat Kohli-led team India is being considered as a strong contender for the title. The Indian T20 squad picked by the selectors consists of a mix of experienced as well as young players.

Big names like Sikhar Dhawan and Yuzvendra Chahal were not selected in the World Cup squad. Today is the last day to make changes in the squad and it is believed that Chahal might be added to the team as a reserve player. 


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *