Press "Enter" to skip to content

The Ashes 2021 England Announces Experienced Squad For Ashes Tour England Vs Australia


The Ashes 2021: England announced its squad for The Ashes series which is slated to be held later this year. Captain Joe Root and coach Silverwood have featured several experienced players in their 17-man squad.

Star all-rounder Ben Stokes, who has been off the field for a long time on the issue of mental health, has not been named in the squad once again. In addition, Sam Curran has also not been included in the squad due to a stress fracture.

There was long-standing suspense over whether there would be The Ashes series this year or not. Players of the England team expressed concern over the strict Covid protocols in Australia. However, after Cricket Australia’s (CA) assurance, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) agreed to play. 

Apart from Ben Stokes, owing to injuries of Jofra Archer, Olly Stone, and Sam Curran it was not easy for England to select a squad for The Ashes series.

England was also scared that their key players would withdraw names from the series due to strict Covid-19 protocols in Australia. Earlier, Captain Joe Root was also not entirely confident about the tour. 

England has not given any uncapped player a place in their squad for The Ashes. As a result of which Liam Livingstone and Saqib Mahmood missed out on a place in the team.  

The Ashes Begin December 8

Under Joe Root’s captaincy, England is scheduled to tour Australia for five tests of the Ashes series. The first match of the series is proposed in Brisbane on December 8. While the remaining four matches will be played in Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, and Perth.

Covid-19 protocols are currently in force in Australia. Most cities in Australia are still under a lockdown situation. Due to this, England’s players are worried about stringent quarantine rules and strict bio-bubbles. 

Australia possesses The Ashes urn at the moment. The series between the two teams tied 2-2 in 2019. Earlier in 2017/18, Australia won the Ashes series 4-0. 

England Squad For The Ashes

Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.



Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *